ANIMATION FILMAKER | CG ARTIST

2014 – Retrospective and Resolution

This blog was viewed about 14,000 times in 2013.

2013 has been a significant checkpoint for me in life. I graduated and attained a degree, completed my own production, achieved awards and found my first job.

Looking back, I wouldn’t have made it without pure discipline, consistency and determination. I might not have achieved first-class honors if I didn’t strategically plan my timetable and not overload any semester. It was such a close shave when I’m still at second upper the previous semester!

I might not have made Affinity: Our Song, if I haven’t been able to assemble a team of talents or plan every strategy to complete it on time. Everything was planned, including the documentation and marketing. I saw this 2 years ago and I told myself “I will do it”. The whole faculty, except for Ishu Patel, was skeptical about my project because it was too big a scale. Nevertheless, I pulled it off. It’s not an awesome work, but there is so much to learn from the process.

Skeptics, skeptics everywhere. Professionals from the industry are telling me that there is little to no chance of me making my own animated feature film, and even if I did, it would end up nowhere and I would have starved to death. But if everyone has the same mentality, who will be the first Singaporean to take that step? Anthony Chen showed us it’s possible. Someone from the animation industry needs to do the same and I’m proud to be one of those making an attempt, starting from animated short films. It doesn’t matter whether I am from a low-income family, if you have to do it, do it!

The time is now.

2014 will be the year where I make my first proper short animated film (no more music video or abstract animation!). Very soon I will have to assemble my next team of talents if I were to pull something special off again. I will also give back to the community by sharing my knowledge through video tutorials on youtube and to help the students at Lasalle achieve new heights if they aspire to do so. Hope to keep up with my painting hobby and pay bills for my family 😀

Leave a Reply

